I’ve always been a fan of Nutella but didn’t really start eating it until I got into university when I had more control over what groceries I bought. My mother was never a fan of buying because she knew my sister and I would probably live off the jar of Nutella until it was completely gone (she’s probably right) So to avoid us having Nutella addictions, she opted to not buy it at all.

I’ll admit when I started eating Nutella again, I was a little over zealous but since, I’ve managed to have the jar last me for quite a long while. It’s definitely something that you should eat in moderation and despite whatever their ads might tell you, it’s not something that you can eat regularly nor is it all that healthy. But one can indulge from time to time right?

A is a huge fan of french toast. As early on as our first conversations he’s been talking about french toast constantly. I hadn’t made french toast in such a long time so I had to re-learn the art of french toast just for him. After many trials and many people in the dorms coming up to me asking me what I was making that smelled so delicious, I finally came up with a recipe I could live with. I encountered too many recipes that were too eggy, others made the toast too soggy while others didn’t have enough flavour.

Like I’ve mentioned briefly before, I follow a more cook what you feel attitude towards cooking so my measurements for some of the ingredients aren’t exact and shouldn’t be. It’s a guideline to follow and should be measured accommodating to your taste but I’ll try to make it as exact as I can

My recipe for standard french toast

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons of milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 3-4 thick slices of white bread (or any type of bread of your choice)
  • butter and/or a tablespoon of oil or a couple sprays of pam

1. Mix the eggs, milk and vanilla together in a shallow bowl big enough to fit your bread slices. Sprinkle in the cinnamon, add more or less depending on your tastes.

2. On medium heat, oil the pan with whatever method you choose.

3. Take one slice of bread, lay one side of the bread in the mixture. Immediately flip the slice so the other side gets coated. Lift for a moment just to let whatever excess mixture drip off and immediately place into the pan.

4. After a couple of minutes (3-4), flip the slice in the pan. Cook until both sides are golden brown.

5. Repeat step 3 until all slices are done or you’re out of mixture.

NOTE – Before dipping each new slice into the mixture, be sure to mix it with a fork and/or add some more cinnamon to the mix. Also be sure to re-oil the pan a little bit before placing a new slice to ensure that it browns just as nicely as the last.

6. Pour syrup or eat as is. Enjoy!

Variations: add nutmeg, sprinkle icing sugar, use almond extract, add fruit.

I listed different oils that you could use to coat the pan. Each work just as well and depends entirely on your methods of cooking. I often combine them depending on what I have on hand. You don’t need much so whatever you have will do. As for the variations, there just things I’ve hear about before though I’ve never tried them myself.

I’ll try my best to post photos the next time I make it so you have a clearer idea of what I mean. Should you want to make more of the mixture at once, just ensure that you maintain a balance of egg and milk as that is the key to my recipe. It’s a pretty simple recipe with ingredients that most people have at home if you’re ever in the mood for something a little sweet and filling. A makes requests for this at all odd hours in the day from the standard morning breakfast to a midnight meal. He loves his french toast.

Nutella Stufffed French Toast

In light of the upcoming Nutella World day, I wanted to attempt some nutella recipes. I wanted to start off simple so I choose nutella stuffed french toast. Essentially, you make the same mixture for the coating and heat up the pan just the same.

 The difference this time is that instead of doing one slice at a time, you create a sandwich with the nutella making sure not to over fill the inside of the sandwich or else it’ll all melt out. It should end up looking something like this.

Cook it the same way as found on step 4 until golden brown. Finished results should look like this:

Reviews:

I can’t explain how much I thoroughly enjoy this. It’s highly filling and shouldn’t be eaten  too often. I would definitely suggest a big glass of milk alongside this. I’m sure you could substitute the nutella for any filling of your choice. I’ve been meaning to see how it turns out with peanut butter but you can’t beat the lovely rich taste of Nutella. I don’t eat this with syrup although some people have from reviews I’ve read. I think that the sandwich is rich enough that it doesn’t need it and it allows you to eat it with your hands but the choice is yours. You’ll notice the 6th picture on the slide show has more servings. I wasn’t sure how this would turn out the first time but I had a feeling it couldn’t be too bad (french toast & nutella, what could go wrong?) and I had distinctly asked A if he was hungry and if he wanted some to which he adamantly replied that he didn’t want any because he wasn’t hungry. After making it, taking photos he inquired as to what I had made (I guess I hadn’t made it clear). He immediately took the plate, took a bite and fell completely in love and begged me (seriously begged me lol ) to make him some more which I happily did. That just goes to show the yumminess of this meal. I’ve tried to teach him but he claims that he can’t make it quite like me. I think it’s just an excuse for me to make it for him but oh well. It’s one of the few things I can proudly cook to perfection.