Cheesecake is one of my favourites desserts. Other than plain cheesecake, my favourite flavours are of the fruit nature. For a family potluck party, I decided to make a cheesecake from scratch (ok, well almost from scratch hehe) I choose the lemon flavour for the refreshing flavour it brings and the hope that it would cut down the greasiness of some of the other foods.

I don’t have any go to recipes for cheesecake as it had been a long time since I last made one. So off to google I went to try and find a recipe that was manageable and tasted delicious. Upon first glance, the recipe seemed rather simple; mix the ingredients, put into crust, bake and then cool. But I discovered while going through the making of this particular cheesecake that its actually a much more lengthier process. I was so happy that I had decided to start making this a day earlier as it turned out to be just enough time to get it all done. And as with many things in life, patience brings it rewards as this cheesecake was incredible.

Recipe adapted from Food & Whine

Ingredients:


For the crust:

  • 2 cups crushed graham crackers (about 26 crackers)
  • 6 Tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

For the filling:

  • 3 8-oz. packages cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 1/3 cups white granulated sugar
  • 3 eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp. grated lemon peel
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

For the topping:

  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 3 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

For the glaze:

  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 cup white granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 tsp. grated lemon peel
  • few mint leaves finely chopped

Thinly sliced lemon rounds, halved and twisted

Instructions:

For the crust: Preheat oven to 350° F.. Butter a 9-inch Springform pan. Blend crumbs and melted butter in bowl. Press mixture into bottom and up sides of prepared pan. Bake for 5 minutes. Cool thoroughly.

For the filling: Preheat oven to 350° F.. Using an electric mixer, beat cream cheese until soft. Gradually blend in sugar. Beat in eggs one at a time. Mix in lemon juice, lemon peel and vanilla. Pour into crust. Bake until slightly puffed, about 40 minutes. Leave oven temperature at 350° F.

For the topping: Blend all ingredients in small bowl. Spread on top of cake. Bake 15 minutes; topping will not look set. Cool for 30 minutes.

For the glaze: Combine water, lemon juice and yolk in heavy small saucepan. Stir in sugar, cornstarch and salt. Bring to boil over low heat, stirring constantly, about 10 minutes. Add butter and lemon peel and stir until butter melts. Cool glaze for 20 minutes.

Spread glaze on cake. Cool completely. Refrigerate until well chilled. (Can be prepared 2 days ahead.) Garnish with lemon slices. Serve cold.

Review:

Like I said, I didn’t make this completely from scratch. As you may have noticed, I used a pre-made crust which was just as delicious (take the help you can get when you can, right?) This has to have been one of my most favourite cheesecakes I had eaten in a long time. It wasn’t too sweet, the layers were to creamy and when served cool, it was thoroughly refreshing. I added mint into the glaze from the original recipe to add more freshness. I’ve been dying to make another cheesecake since but it astound me the amount of cream cheese that goes into this and I never get around to buying it but maybe sometime soon. In the meantime, try this out for yourself and as always, Happy Eating! :)

