I first tasted this dessert in during my summer employments. Like many other office jobs, sweet treats are a favourite especially during those  long days where you need a sugar boost at 4 in the afternoon. Doughnuts, cookies, cakes, chocolates, and candy were prized at my office.  These sweet treats were no different. Given to us as a reward when we had zero errors on our reports, we were treated to this unique Greek dessert.

I will admit that when first offered to me, I refused due to just unfamiliarity. It didn’t look completely appetizing at the time that I first saw it, inside a box clumped as one big sticky mess. I finally got the courage to eat it and totally fell in love. It was definitely as sweet as it looked. The ball itself was like a doughnut but surrounding and absorbed inside is the honey syrup that bursts into your mouth when you bite into it. It’s warm and filling, definitely not something you could eat handfuls of.

I recently remembered eating the dessert and tried to find if any Greek restaurant in town had them on their menu. Sadly, there was none. My craving had grown and I just had to have some so I took it upon myself to find a recipe, gather the ingredients and give this dessert a try.

P.S. I apologize for the lack of photos during the creating process. I didn’t really know how it would turn out and I spent a lot of time checking things twice and ensuring things would go well to take the necessary pictures. Should I make this again, I’ll be sure to update with step-by-step photos

Adapted from Group Recipes

Ingredients

for the doughnut:

  • 1/4 ounce (1 packet) dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • I-2/3 cups all-purpose flour, sifted
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Canola or Peanut oil for deep-frying

for the syrup:

  • 8-10 Tablespoons honey
  • 4 Tablespoons water
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Instructions

1. Dissolve the yeast in 1/2 cup of the warm water for 15 minutes or until it becomes frothy. (Note: This was my first time ever using yeast. I was sure which one to buy and how to use it. I followed the instruction on the packaging and everything turned out fine)


2. Place the flour and salt in a bowl. Make a well in the centre and add the yeast solution and remaining 1/2 cup warm water. Mix well to make a thick batter.


3. Cover with a kitchen towel and leave for 1 hour in a warm place or until the batter has doubled in size. * ensure that it is a warm area or else dough will not rise to desire amount


To make the syrup:

1. Place the syrup ingredients in a saucepan and simmer, stirring, for 10 minutes. Ensure that the pot does not get too hot or else the syrup will boil and create a mess.
2. I added a dash of cinnamon to the syrup at the end to tie in all the flavours. Set aside to cool.

To make the honey balls:

1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan suitable for deep-frying.
2. Drop heaping tablespoons of the batter into the hot oil, turning them as they puff up.Fry for about 3 minutes or until they are golden brown.3. Drain on paper towels and keep warm until all the batter is used.
4. To serve, place on a large platter or individual plates. Spoon the syrup over and sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar and cinnamon. (I had no sugar on hand so just relied on cinnamon and lemon zest as a finishing touch.)

Other added notes:

I placed some of the syrup in a bowl and tossed the hot fried balls into the syrup right after draining so that they would absorb more of the syrup. I read this technique from another recipe and a few videos. Some recipes calls for an egg in the dough batter. I didn’t have egg at the time which is why I choose a recipe without one. I’d experiment and see which method you prefer. You could also eliminate the lemon from the syrup for a more traditional flavour. I also placed the rest of the unused syrup into a small bowl for added dipping.

Final results:

They were really delicious and exactly what I had been craving at the time. They were incredibly sweet and I ended up saving the rest to munch on during the week. The lemon flavour helped to cut the sweetness of the honey and balance it out better. They were bite size and really flavourful. I was worried that the dough might end up chewy but it wasn’t. The recipe worked well. I really highly suggest that you either make some yourself or search for some yourself. It’s a treat you don’t want to miss out on. Happy eating!



