In my freezer I often keep frozen filets of fish, typically tilapia, haddock and/or cod. I also normally forget that it’s in there until my fridge is basically bare. This was no exception. At the time, I had just moved into my apartment and my supplies had hit an all time low. I was so swamped with essays due in a few days, I couldn’t bring myself to take a grocery trip to get the needed supplies. I digged into the freezer and discovered the tilapia filets and decided to have them for dinner.

No matter how low my supplies get, I usually have onions, carrots and cucumbers on hand for vegetables. I also had some orange juice on hand and I remembered that back in the day my mother would take orange juice and reduce it down to create a sauce for shrimp. I decided to give that a try for my fish. I wanted to keep everything very light because there’s nothing worse than getting stressed out and becoming sluggish from eating too much greasy junk food.

I’ll write out a recipe but in all honesty, I just threw everything together very last minute and my measurements weren’t exact.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium sized onion (red or yellow, whatever taste you prefer)
  • 1 medium carrot, julienned
  • 1 cucumber, thinly sliced circles
  • 1 small to medium sized yellow bell pepper, julienned
  • 1 tilapia filet
  • 1/4 cup of orange juice
  • 1 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil
  • black pepper & salt to taste

Instructions:

1. Heat pan to medium/medium-high heat; add oil

2. Add onions and sauté. When onions begin to become translucent, add bell peppers and carrots until it starts to get tender. Take vegetables out and place to the side

3. Re-oil pan if you wish; add filet and let cook for a few minutes then flip to other side. Add orange juice, season with  salt & pepper and let simmer so the sauce can reduce. After a min or two, re-add the vegetables mixture and coat with the orange sauce.

4. Plate however you wish. Put cucumbers on the side to add an element of freshness.

 

Review:

I ate this with steamed rice as seen in the picture. The orange sauce turned out perfect and the whole meal was really light and fresh. I love onions so I opted for more than what’s written in the recipe. I also had some pickled carrots and daikon radish so I  used that for a garnish and it added a tangy bite. The whole meal is just a guideline so add whatever vegetables you may have around. I’ll definitely have to try the orange sauce for shrimp the way my mother used to do it.

