Every once in a while, I have the craving to bake something from scratch. It’s tough to do sometimes in my apartment as I don’t have all the supplies and materials needed for baking. While trying to figure out what I could make, I discovered that I had some plain yogurt and lemons in my fridge that I wanted to cook with. I decided to look up a lemon pound cake recipe and although there were many that didn’t require the  yogurt, I wanted to find one that I did.

Although I had a baking pan that I could have used to make a loaf, I decided to portion it from the start and make cupcakes instead of a loaf. I’m not much of a baker so I can’t improvise as well as I could with regular cooking. Hence the need of a recipe.

Recipe adapted from My Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 3/4  cup  butter, softened
  • 1 1/2  cups  sugar
  • 3  large eggs
  • 1  tablespoon  lemon zest
  • 1  tablespoon  lemon juice
  • 3/4  cup  vanilla yogurt
  • 2 1/4  cups  all-purpose flour
  • 2  teaspoons  baking powder
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°. Grease a cupcake pan of whatever size you wish. Liners are optional.

2. Beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition until smooth.

3. Stir together lemon zest, juice, and yogurt in a separate bowl. *I didn’t find my zester until much later so I just opt to finely chop the zest that I got off with a vegetable peeler, making sure that no white pith was on the peel.

4. Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt in a third bowl; add to butter mixture, alternately with yogurt mixture. Beat until blended after each addition.

5. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake at 350° for about an hour or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.

6. Cool in pan on wire rack about 10 minutes.

They looked just perfect and simple as is but I wanted to dress them up a little bit more. I was originally going to put a lemon flavoured cream cheese frosting but after seeing how dense the cakes were, I opted for something more light. I had some cool whip whipped cream in my fridge so I topped them with a good dollop. I still felt like something was missing so I followed the lemon glaze listed on the site but I didn’t like the results so I won’t be posting the recipe here. You can still try it yourself. I think I needed more sugar as it turned out a little bitter tasting. Might have been from the fruit or my cooking method. Despite not being tasty it did make a nice garnish for photographic purposes.

Review:

The cupcakes were so incredibly moist and rich. The yogurt really helped to round out the flavourful and keep it moist inside. The cake was dense and very flavourful without being too sweet. The whipped cream topping was perfect to add a very light creamy texture to it. I definitely enjoyed making these and will be making them again in the future.

