Udon noodles are one of my favourite types of noodles. They’re starchy and filling. They’re also the one noodle that I’ll willing eat with soup as I’m not a big fan of soup and noodles. But Udon in a warm miso based soup is simply divine. They’re my asian version of spaghetti. After going to sakura and tasting their Yaki-udon, I decided it couldn’t be too hard to make my own just the way I like it so I experimented. I don’t know how authentic it is but it’s definitely delicious to me.

Ingredients:

1 package of udon noodles
1+ carrots, julliened
1/3 of a cucumber, julienned
4+ button mushrooms, sliced
1 onion, sliced
2+ cloves of garlic, finely chopped
few tsps of oil
a few tbsps of soy sauce
1/4 tsp of sesame oil
1/4 tsp of chili oil
salt & pepper to taste
sesame seeds, garnish

Instructions:

  1. Boil a pot of water, add the noodles and cook for 3 minutes (or according to the packaging)
  2.  Heat pan to medium-high. Add oil. Add onions until translucent. The add garlic, and vegetables. Toss until tender.
  3. Add cooked noodles. Then add all the sauces and spices. Adjust to your liking.
  4. garnish with sesame seeds and cilantro if you like.

I also cooked and fried some frozen dumplings for something meaty on the side. I love crispy fried dumplings. The contrasts in texture are very playful.

The final meal looked like this.

Review:

 I ended up adding a little more chili oil than what I would have liked (I’ve adjusted it in the recipe) so it ended up a little spicier than I would have liked and overtook the flavour a little bit. But overall, it was warm and delicious. The noodles were slippery and well seasoned and the vegetables were cooked to perfection. The dumplings on the side were a perfect accompaniment to the noodles. It was a lot of food and I didn’t get to eat it all in one sitting. It’s definitely a hearty meal.

