Thai food is my favourite type of food and Pad Thai in particular is my favourite food of all time. My mother often asks me if there was one food in the world that I would happily eat for every meal, every day for the rest of my life what would it be? And without hesitation, I quickly reply that I could live off of Pad Thai forever. The balance of flavours, the different textures, it all combines to make a heavenly, hearty meal. I’ve only had the opportunity to eat a few really good authentic Pad Thai since its unfortunately become a mainstream favourite and has undergone an Americanized adaptation just as sushi did with the California roll. I certainly have never made any truly authentic Pad Thai simply from the lack of ingredients and time but I definitely will someday. In the meantime, I opt of prepared sauces, most of which aren’t very good but does the trick.

The essentials of Pad Thai are very easy to bring together. I don’t use the typical meats and shrimps for my Pad Thai and for that reason, have used vegetable fillers instead. I’m still in the process of tweaking my recipe to my liking since getting it well seasoned and flavourful has proved to be a challenge but I definitely have the basics down. Again, before I get people writing me off and criticizing my attempt at Pad Thai, I was to re-iterate that this is not at all authentic. It is merely an adaptation to suffice my craving. I will at some point, prepare real authentic Pad Thai.

Ingredients:

1 package of flat rice noodles (preferably of medium thickness)
1-2 eggs
1 onion, sliced
2 medium carrots, julienned or using a vegetable peeler or mandolin to slice really thin
1/3 of a cucumber, julienned
jar of prepared Pad Thai sauce, 3+ tbsp according to taste
few tsp of oil
slat & pepper to taste
handful of bean sprouts
handful of chopped peanuts
chopped cilantro
fresh lime or lemon for squeezing over

Instructions:

  1. Soak the rice sticks in cold water for about an hour until pliable.
  2. Heat up the pan to medium-high. add oil
  3. Add onions, cook until translucent. Add carrots and cucumbers, cook until for a few minutes. Move vegetables to one side of the pan, add a touch more oil, crack the egg(s) in the pan, give it a couple of seconds to cook. Then scramble the eggs in the pan.
  4. Add half of the allotted amount og Pad Thai sauce to cover and season the vegetables and eggs.
  5. Add the noodles into the pan, toss with the rest of the mix. Add more of the sauce according to taste.
  6. Add bean sprouts, peanuts and cilantro as garnish and have a few slices of lime/lemon on the side.

Review:

It’s very simple. Definitely still a work in progress. It’s no where near authentic but I love how easy it is to make and is no worse than what I can buy at the Thai restaurants found down the street.

