I don’t often bake as it’s a far more exact science compared to general cooking and since I take a more relaxed method to cooking, it doesn’t always suit me but I do like apple pie so I decided to give it another try after the success of Thanksgiving. Apples were in season and on sale at this time so A and I decided to make a delicious pie. We followed this recipe as a guideline.

Ingredients:

  • Storebought Pie Crust
  • 6 cups Granny Smith apple slices, peeled and cored
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 – 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon or nutmeg to taste
  • 2 Tablespoons cold butter, cut in small pieces
  • 1 Tablespoon milk or cream for brushing the top crust
  • 1 Tablespoon sugar and 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon for dusting the crust

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
2. Roll out the pie crust bottom and tops, leaving enough overhang to fold underneath. Place the bottom pie crust evenly in a 9″ pie pan or ceramic pie dish and set aside. Fold the top crust in half and place a towel over it so it doesn’t dry out.

3. In a large bowl, toss the sliced apples with lemon juice. Add sugars, flour and spices if desired, mixing gently.

4. Fold into prepared pie crust and dot with cold butter.

5. Follow the double crust directions below.

6. Bake for 50-60 minutes or until crust is golden brown and juices are bubbly. Place a piece of aluminum foil around the rim if the edges start to brown too fast.

7. Remove to cooling rack and let cool for at least 30 minutes.

8. Serve Apple Pie à la mode with ice cream or sweetened whipped cream.

9. Refrigerate any leftovers. 

Reviews:

It ended up being pretty delicious. This recipe was easy to follow however, I did prefer the one my sister used for thanksgiving (she doesn’t remember where she got it from anymore). The store bought crust was very flaky, a lot better than anything that I could attempt to make. A was very proud of himself and his efforts to add all the ingredients and roll it out. One should be proud, he tends not to venture too far from the meats. The whole house smelled of delicious applie pie. I ate it with some frozen whipped cream as I’ve been making a concious effort to stay away from ice cream lately. Unfortunately most of the pie went to waste as we couldn’t finish it in time before it spoiled (another reason why people should visit me and take some of my food!) I don’t think I’ll be making this for a while since I’ve definitely had my fill of apple pie. Maybe I’ll attempt a blueberry pie as that’s the only other pie that I’m fond of. Apple pie is definitely a must for the holidays. Happy cooking!

