In my storage I have tons of noodle packages from udon, to vermicelli, rice noodles, soba, somen, buckwheat and so forth. It’s only in the last little while that I started cooking different types of noodles and I still have a long way to go when it comes to mastering each othem. I often just throw whatever noodles I want with whatever sauce I have on hand regardless if they were really meant for each other. Below is an example. I didn’t have rice noodles but I was craving the taste of Pad Thai so I substituted for a different udon noodle. I added onions, garlic, shrimp and garnished it with fresh onions, peanuts and coriander leaves. I think I went a little overboard with the onions so I didn’t eat most of it but it tasted good and satisfying.

A has a major sweet tooth so whenever we make a trip to the grocery store, he always requests to get a cheesecake and I’m more than happy to oblige, although I really think he should cut back. We normally get a plain kind but for whatever reason, they don’t hold stock of it anymore at the Loblaws so now he’s opted for an even sweeter version (good grief!). We ended up getting the Dulce de Leche cheesecake. Another thing about A, he eats cheesecake by the quarters and although this personal cheesecake isn’t that big, you can see what I urge him to cut back. He’s a pretty active dude though so he can manage to get away with it. This particular cheesecake has three components to it: regular cake, cheesecake filling, and dulce topping. I eat the cake from time to time because he’s more fond of the rest of it. It tastes pretty good and if I can remember to look at the brand, I’ll be sure to post that up. For now, some photos that I manage to take before he devoured it again…

 Up next, Champarado! Champorado is a filipino type of porrige primarily made of chocolate and glutinous rice. It is very filling and eaten primarily in the morning. My family doesn’t cook this very often for no other reason than we just don’t but upon special request, my grandmother makes it for us in the morning. It’s sweet and satisfying. The ingredients list is simple, comprising of glutinous rice, chocolate powder, water, sugar, vanilla, and milk.

My grandmother makes it without the sugar to accomdate to my diabetic dad and allows us to custom make it to our liking. We use regular sugar, splenda or brown sugar to sweeten it and either add milk or evaporated milk to give it a creamier texture. I don’t know if other filipinos do this or just mine but because we like foods that balance out, we usually put something salty and crunchy into our porridge for added texture. Now hear me out and trust me that it’s not as weird tasting as you think; we add little salted dried shrimps or anchovies to it (I can just sense all the cringes right now lol) or salted slivers of cooked beef (my personal fav) It honestly sounds pretty strange but it’s how I enjoy it. Opting for the plain version is acceptable too. Here’s what it looks like. I didn’t know how else to make it look appetizing, it is afterall basically a bowl of (warm, sweet, gooey) mush.

I only added brown sugar and 2% milk this time around.

 

