One afternoon A and I were sitting doing our own thing (me reading and him playing video games) and suddenly A had a craving from something sweet. I suggested that maybe we have some hot chocolate. Now this is nothing gourmet only because it was spur of the moment.

Ingredients:

  • Hot water
  • Packaged Hot Chocolate
  • Whipped Cream
  • Cinnamon

You can use hot water or heat up some milk. I only thought about the milk after I had already started heating the water but milk would give the hot chocolate more depth. Use whatever hot chocolate powder you have around. I’m not too picky since I don’t drink it that often so I believe I used a Nestle version of hot chocolate. Then to dress it up, you can either add marshmallows or whipped cream. I definitely can’t have hot chocolate without one of those.  Then you can add a sprinkle of cinnamon, nutmeg, or cocoa powder and then enjoy. Much cheaper than what you can buy at Starbucks, still personalized and arguably as flavourful. Oh, one other thing, I don’t use a kettle and pour the hot water into the glass and add the powder. I prefer heating everything up in a saucepan so that the powder gets better distributed instead of lumping or sinking to the bottom like you sometimes get when you just to it in the cup.

Sans whipped cream:

