So let’s start with my first meal after being truly inspired to start writing this blog. After 2 days of being completely consumed by food blogs I decided to debut my cooking adventures with one of the most widely celebrated food events of the year; Thanksgiving. But before we get to the thanksgiving meal itself, I wanted to showcase the yummy  lunch we had beforehand which included:
  • Sichuan style Dungeness crab
  • steamed blue crab
  • simple tomato & green onion mix
  • toasted baguette for dipping
  • peach yogurt, granola and fresh raspberries parfait
Asian recipe book

Asian recipe book

chopping up dungeness crab

chopping up Dungeness crab

The recipe came from one of my family’s favorite recipe books (of which I do not know the name) It has TONS of picture and lots of yummy recipes that my family use time and time again. If I remember, I’ll get the recipe and name of the book next time I go home. Truthfully though, my family just take the ingredients and improvise with the amounts according to taste.

onions and garlic

onions and garlic

yummy goodness

yummy goodness

some of the main ingredients: ginger, chili garlic sauce, sichuan spicy sauce

some of the main ingredients: ginger, chili garlic sauce, sichuan spicy sauce

 My father added a scrambled egg and corn starch mixture to thicken the sauce, and green onions for aesthetic purposes.

addition of a scrambled egg

addition of a scrambled egg

delicious final product

delicious product

In addition to the Dungeness crab, we bought some blue crab to steam. Its one of my favourite things to eat especially when they’re in season. We had them the night before and they were super delicious and filled with lots of meat.

cleaning the crab before steaming

cleaning the crab before steaming

crab after steaming

crab after steaming

On the side we had toasted baguette to soak up all the Sichuan sauce with the crab instead of rice. We also had a tomato & green onion mix which is a traditional side for crab to add a touch of freshness to the meal and cleanse the palate. Sometimes our family opts for a vinegar and minced red onion mix to add a touch of tanginess to the meal. toasted baguette for dipping the Sichuan sauce.

toasted baguette for dipping the sichaun sauce

toasted baguette for dipping the Sichuan sauce

tomato & green onion mix

tomato & green onion mix

For desert we kept it light and simple with a peach yogurt with granola and ripe raspberries. Now I’m not the biggest fan of raspberries because they tend to be tart/sour but these were so unbelievably sweet and perfect. I wish we had more (although I had munched on them since the moment I came home). Definitely satisfying after all that garlic and chili sauce.

freshly washed

freshly washed

sweet and ripe

sweet and ripe

peach yogurt topped with raspberries

peach yogurt topped with raspberries

Meal review:

The crab was incredibly meaty and cooked perfectly. Because the sauce from the Sichuan was heavy enough, it was a nice change to eat just the bread beside it. The yogurt was refreshing and the raspberries were a perfect match. It was god hearty meal without being too heavy; just enough to tide oneself over until dinner.

After cleaning up, on to the start of thanksgiving meal prep….

